Posts Tagged ‘David O. McKay’

Church History Today – September 8th

September 8th, 2010 No comments

David O. McKay

David O. McKay

September 8, 1873 – Born David O. McKay – 9th President of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Categories: Church History Tags:

Church History Today – December 17th

December 17th, 2009 No comments

December 17, 1903 – Orville and Wilber Wright became the first men to fly when they managed to get their powered airplane off the ground near Kitty Hawk, N.C., for 12 seconds. They made four flights that day, the longest lasting for 59 seconds.

December 17, 1958 – The Church College of Hawaii in Laie, Hawaii, was dedicated by President David O. McKay.

December 17, 2001 – After a 32-month absence of proselytizing missionaries in the Republic of Serbia, six missionaries from the Bulgaria Sofia Mission returned to Serbia. Missionaries were withdrawn from the country in March 1999 because of conflict in the region.

Church History Today – November 17th

November 17th, 2009 No comments

November 17, 1964 – The Oakland Temple was dedicated by President David O. McKay.

Church History Today – November 8th

November 8th, 2009 No comments

November 8, 1912 – The First Presidency created a Correlation Committee, headed by Elder David O. McKay of the Quorum of the Twelve, and asked it to coordinate scheduling and prevent unnecessary duplication in programs of Church auxiliaries.

November 8-16, 1996 President Hinckley spoke to gatherings of Church members and missionaries in Colombia, Peru, Bolivia, Chile, Argentina and Brazil, and broke ground for temples in Bolivia and Brazil.

November 8-13, 1997 – President Hinckley addressed 42,000 Church members in Mexico City and an additional 12,000 in Puebla, Mexico. On the trip, he met with Mexico’s president, Dr. Ernesto Zedillo.

Church History Today – November 2nd

November 2nd, 2009 No comments

November 2nd, 2006 – President Hinckley, at 96 years and 133 days, became the longest-lived Church president, a distinction previously held by President David O. McKay.

Church History – October

October 13th, 2009 No comments

October 1965 – With the appointment of President Joseph Fielding Smith and Elder Thorpe B. Isaacson as counselors, President David O. McKay announced that the First Presidency would be increased to five, instead of three members.

October 1970 – Monday was designated for family home evening throughout the Church; no other Church activity was to be scheduled during that time.

Church History Today – September 11th

September 11th, 2009 No comments

September 11, 1955 – The Swiss Temple, near Bern, was dedicated by President David O. McKay.

Church History Today – September 7-8th

September 7th, 2009 No comments

September 7-11, 1857 – The Mountain Meadows Massacre took place, in which Arkansas immigrants on their way to California were killed in Southern Utah. Twenty years later John D. Lee was executed for his part in the crime.

September 7, 1958 – The London Temple was dedicated by President David O. McKay.

September 7-8, 2001 – The first two meetinghouses built by the Church in the Ukraine Kiev Mission were dedicated on consecutive dates in the districts of Livoberezhny and Svyatoshinsky.

Church History in June

June 12th, 2009 No comments

June 1952 – President David O. McKay made a six-week tour of European missions and branches in Holland, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Finland, Germany, Switzerland, Wales, Scotland and France. During this trip he announced Bern, Switzerland, as site of the first European temple.

Categories: Church History Tags:

Church History Today – May 21st

May 21st, 2009 No comments

May 21, 1913 – The Boy Scout program was officially adopted by the Young Men’s Mutual Improvement Association and became the activity program for boy of the Church.
May 21, 1927 – Charles Lindbergh, aboard his “Spirit of St. Louis” monoplane, completed the first transatlantic solo flight from New York City to Paris, a distance of 3,610 miles, in 33 ½ hours.
May 21, 1945 – At a special meeting of the Quorum of the Twelve in the Salt Lake Temple, the First Presidency was reorganized with President George Albert Smith ordained and set apart as the eighth president of the Church, Presidents J. Reuben Clark Jr. and David O. McKay, counselors to President Grant, were called also as counselors to President Smith.
May 21, 1990 – The U.S. Supreme Court handed down a unanimous decision that money given directly to missionaries was not a deductible donation under federal tax law. The Church encouraged members to follow established procedures of contributing through their wards.